Decoding the Satanic Message of “Counting Stars” by OneRepublic

I heard this song on the radio, and the satanic message just jumped out at me.

Listen carefully: “I feel something so right about doing the wrong thing.”

Watch carefully: In the video, the singers are below the church people, symbolizing hell. There is an alligator prowling around down there with them, symbolizing the dragon/Satan.

Watch carefully: The lead singer throws up satanic hand signs when he says “I’ve been praying hard”.

11 thoughts on “Decoding the Satanic Message of “Counting Stars” by OneRepublic”

  1. You could not be more wrong. This song is not Satanic, it’s Christian. Ryan Tedder, the lead singer, was raised in a baptist church, is a Christian and is very open about his faith, and he admits to using Christian references throughout his music. I think, friend, that you are mistaken about the songs meaning because you are focused on the end times and have concluded that everything relating to pop culture is a product of the antichrist. Well, that is an argument for another time (I believe Nero-his name numerically translated to the mark of the beast-was clearly the antichrist and that those doomsday prophecies are past us-look into it), but keep in mind that, regardless of what you believe about the end times, that not every song is evil or sending Satanic messages. If you focus too intently on interpreting something as sinful, you will see symbolism that isn’t there. While it may be true that Satan works through music sometimes, remember that God does too. You are right that this song has strong religious undertones, but it’s not Satanism, it’s Christianity that you see in these Biblical references.

    Listen to, for example, OneRepublic’s other songs, namely “Preacher”: “When I was a kid/My grandfather was a preacher/He’d talk about God/Yeah he was something like a teacher/He said, “God only helps those/Who learn to help themselves.”/He was a million miles from a million dollars/But you could never spend his wealth”

    According to the wikipedia:
    Born in Tulsa, Oklahoma, Tedder was raised by an extended family of missionaries and pastors in a Christian church. He continued to perform musically during his adolescence through church, school, and personally formed groups. He has on one arm a tattoo written in old Japanese which he got while he was in Osaka, meaning “God’s will” and literally means “God gives and God takes”.

    And from billboard.com:
    “Given “Counting Stars”‘ uplifting, faith-based message, it must be gratifying to be connecting with such a meaningful song.
    Tedder: I think it’s our responsibility as a band, and what separates us from everyone else.”

    He may have called some Christian recording artists pretentious and insecure, but you are calling him a Satanist! What does that say about you? And note that he uses quotation marks around the word “Christian”, implying that he is casting doubt on their true faith. He is not criticizing Christianity or Christ here, but rather being honest about something unsettling he saw in the Christian music industry, which is why he chose to opt out of the genre. However, he maintains that he is a Christian, and it is obvious that he is by his actions: “By their fruit you will recognize them. Do people pick grapes from thornbushes, or figs from thistles? Likewise, every good tree bears good fruit, but a bad tree bears bad fruit. A good tree cannot bear bad fruit, and a bad tree cannot bear good fruit.” Matthew 7:16-20 Look into OneRepublic’s work with the charity organization, Save the Children. They actively support this group by promoting them, at one point making a song and video “Feel Again” to benefit the organization. Every time the song is downloaded on iTunes, part of the profit is donated to helping prevent the untimely deaths of children around the world from preventable diseases and malnutrition. Hardly sounds like the agenda of a Satanist if you ask me. Remember, “A house divided against itself cannot stand.” Mark 3:23 Doing such good deeds would be counterproductive to Satan’s mission of causing death and misery.

    Now that we have established the band’s faith, let’s take another look at what those lyrics mean, straight from the horse’s mouth:

    On “The Voice” Ryan Tedder said: “This is about my struggle to pursue music fulltime. I got married relatively young so now I’m supporting somebody else and I used to sit around thinking about I can’t wait till I’m not counting every single penny. I wanna be just chilling, counting stars.” … “A lot of time I just lay in bed awake, stressing out,” Tedder said. “Everybody does it. And I just thought, I can’t wait until I’m counting stars and not counting dollars anymore. Things will be so much better.”

    Now that we know what the basic meaning of the song is, we can break down some of those lyrics and spiritual references and try to interpret them correctly. This could be gone about in several ways, and it may take some speculation and imagination on our part to explain the exact meaning of some of the lines. The imagery is indeed shrouded in code to disguise some of the religious messages, just as Jesus used parables when speaking to the crowds so that “though seeing they would not see, though hearing they would not understand.” But the code is not intended to hide a demonic message, but rather hints at Christian themes. Here is what the song really means, and some of the possible explanations of the lyrics:

    “Lately I been, I been losing sleep
    Dreaming ’bout the things that we could be”
    -He is worried about money, and dreaming about the day he could have success in his career.
    “But baby I been, I been prayin’ hard
    Said no more counting dollars
    We’ll be counting stars
    Yeah, we’ll be counting stars”
    -He is praying for financial help and hoping that one day he will no longer have to worry about money (count dollars) but be able to relax and enjoy the simple things in life, as he stated. Others have pointed out that counting stars could be a reference to Abraham, who God promised would have descendants as numerous as the stars-implying that counting stars represents counting God’s blessings, or hoping for God’s promises. Given the verses the song alludes to (see below), one could conclude that the term “counting stars” stands for keeping your mind on heavenly treasures (as the stars are in the heavens), rather than earthly and material things (counting dollars).

    “I see this life
    Like a swinging vine
    Swing my heart across the line
    In my face is flashing signs
    Seek it out and ye shall find”
    -The first few lines are pretty cryptic, but could simply mean life is chaotic. “In my face is flashing signs” could mean that he is asking for a sign, but that it is right in front of him:
    The phrase “Seek it out and ye shall find”, meaning that instead of asking for answers or signs he should seek them out. This alludes to several Bible verses, including Matthew 7:7 “Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you” Jeremiah 29:12 “You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart” and Matthew 6:33 “Seek ye first the kingdom of God, and all these things shall be added unto you as well”, all of which send the same message: to not worry about material wealth, but to seek God and trust Him to provide, clearly a central theme and main underlying meaning of the song.

    We can see the message the song is trying to convey pretty well laid out if we read further into these chapters and see what they are trying to say:

    Matthew 6:
    19 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.
    22 “The eye is the lamp of the body. If your eyes are healthy, your whole body will be full of light. 23 But if your eyes are unhealthy, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light within you is darkness, how great is that darkness!
    24 “No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money.
    25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?
    28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.”

    Matthew 7:
    “7Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you: 8For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened. 9Or what man is there of you, whom if his son ask bread, will he give him a stone? 10Or if he ask a fish, will he give him a serpent? 11If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your Father which is in heaven give good things to them that ask him?”

    Jeremiah 20:
    “11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

    It is clear that these chapters were weighing on Ryan’s mind as he laid awake worrying about his finances, and later when he wrote the lyrics for Counting Stars.

    “Old, but I’m not that old
    Young, but I’m not that bold
    And I don’t think the world is sold
    We’re just doing what we’re told” -And here we launch into riddles of contrast. The lyrics begin to get increasingly cryptic and poetic at this point, and I will not attempt to interpret them, because I don’t know what they mean. They could mean anything.

    “I feel something so right
    We’re doing the wrong thing
    I feel something so wrong
    We’re doing the right thing
    I could lie, could lie, could lie
    Everything that kills me makes me feel alive.”
    – Who hasn’t felt this way at some point? I know I have. There are lots of things in the world that gives us thrills but end up slowly killing us. Take for example drugs, alcohol, sex, etc. It may feel so right to do the wrong thing, and likewise it may be hard to do the right thing at times. The sentiment of Ryan Tedder’s dilemma is echoed in Paul’s cry in Romans 7 “I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do…For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it. So I find this law at work: Although I want to do good, evil is right there with me. For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in me, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within me. What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body that is subject to death? Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord!”,
    and is reminiscent of Proverbs 14:12 “There is a way that appears to be right, but in the end it leads to death.”

    Now keep in mind that Ryan Tedder is not neccessarily promoting sin here, but rather being honest about his struggle with the flesh and stating a truth and issuing a warning: that we are lead astray by temptations because they make us “feel alive”, but in the end they will kill us. Again, this is consistent with the song’s message that we shouldn’t be seeking after earthly pleasures/treasures, whether that be money, drugs, etc. Also, personally I think the actual lyrics are “I couldn’t lie, couldn’t lie, couldn’t lie”-meaning that he is being honest, but I could be wrong.

    “I feel the love
    And I feel it burn
    Down this river every turn
    Hope is a four letter word
    Make that money
    Watch it burn”-Again, the poeticism is too hard to translate. Somebody else may be able to unravel the symbolism of some of these.
    ….
    “Everything that drowns me makes me wanna fly”
    -Repeating the same cry as earlier for emphasis. In the monetary context of the song, “everything that drowns me” could be referring to drowning in debt. You can then interpret this line as meaning that spending money makes him happy, but he’s drowning in debt. He is struggling with saving his money versus blowing it all.

    “Take that money and watch it burn
    Sink in the river the lessons I learned”
    -This one can really be taken several ways. It could mean that he is letting go of the value he places on money and deciding not to worry about his finances, figuratively sinking in the river (perhaps symbolic of baptism) the “lessons he learned”, that is, what the world has taught him about the importance of material wealth (“For the wisdom of this world is foolishness in God’s sight.” 1 Corinthians 3:19) However, it could also mean that he’s lamenting that he’s acting foolishly by choosing to just spend all his money and ignore admonitions to save up. Either way, he is clearly frustrated with his financial situation and the problems that arise from it. Perhaps this line is simply expressing his frustrations with money and his desire to just burn it all and forget about the subject altogether.

    There are several in depth articles written on the subject as well, with different interpretations of the lyrics. Check out http://www.pluggedin.com/music/tracks/2013/onerepublic-counting-stars.aspx
    http://thewritepractice.com/counting-stars/
    http://popcrush.com/onerepublic-counting-stars-song-meaning/

    Now, as for the video, I have no idea what it is about. It is a very strange video indeed, but that doesn’t make it Satanic. Also it is not even directed by Ryan Tedder, but James Lees, and it may not even line up with the meaning of the song. Note that the hand gesture that Baphomet is using in the picture is not a two-finger salute-it is a two hand, three finger sign, counting the thumb, pointing downwards. The direction is important here, because, together with the other hand, which points upward, it forms the sign of Hermetism-which is a visual representation of the Hermetic axiom “As Above, So Below”. In other words, it is not complete without the other hand pointing upwards as this “up and down” message is the essence of the signal’s meaning. This is not the gesture that Ryan Tedder makes in the video at all. On closer investigation, we see that what he uses is the same two finger salute that is used by cub scouts and the Polish military, according to the wikipedia: “The salute is performed with the middle and index fingers extended and touching each other, while the ring and little fingers are bent and touched by the thumb.” One legend states that it originated in the Battle of Olszynka Grochowska in 1831, when a soldier who lost two fingers in the battle saluted his superior with a wounded hand.

    Although the horn sign, made by extending the index and pinky fingers, could possibly be interpretted as relating to the devil’s horns, throughout history it has meant various different things, and in today’s modern pop culture it has largely come to be known as a sign of rock ‘n’ roll. The first one who used it in this way, Ronnie James Dio, made the sign popular among musicians when he started using it after joining the heavy metal band Black Sabbath. When asked what it means, he explained:
    “It’s NOT the devil’s sign like we’re here with the devil. It’s an Italian thing I got from my Grandmother called the “Malocchio”. It’s to ward off the Evil Eye or to give the Evil Eye, depending on which way you do it. It’s just a symbol but it had magical incantations and attitudes to it and I felt it worked very well with Sabbath. So I became very noted for it and then everybody else started to pick up on it and away it went. But I would never say I take credit for being the first to do it. I say because I did it so much that it became the symbol of rock and roll of some kind.” The meaning of the sign has undergone somewhat of an evolution, in the same way the word gay has. It once meant happy, now when we hear gay we usually think homosexual. It is common in language for meanings to change, and today, the horn sign has little to do with the devil OR the evil eye, and it is unlikely that anybody using the sign means it to be taken that way. It is now a part of rock and roll culture, and what Ryan Tedder meant when he gave the symbol is much more likely to be “Rock and roll!” than “All heil Satan”. We don’t even know that Ryan Tedder knew what the sign originally meant. It’s just a popular trend among rockstars.

    It is true that the dragon is a symbol of Satan in the Bible, but just because Satan is spoken of as a dragon does not mean that a crocodile here is repesenting the devil in any way. There is nothing evil about a crocodile in and of itself; it is a creation of God. (Nor is a crocodile used as a symbol for the devil anywhere in the Bible as far as I know of, but a dragon, which is not the same thing, though they are both reptiles.) Remember the story of Moses and that the staff God gave him turned into a snake. Now we all know that the serpent is a clear symbol of the devil throughout the Bible, but does that mean that the staff God gave Moses was Satanic? Of course not, a snake is a part of God’s creation just like a crocodile is. And in that case, it was used to demonstrate God’s power. This sort of dual symbolism is used elsewhere in the Bible; at some points the devil is referred to as a prowling lion, in other places Yahashua (Jesus) is described as a lion as well. That does not mean Jesus is the devil because they are both represented by lions. Just because an animal is used to symbolize the devil does not mean that animal is evil or is always used to represent or mean the same thing. Likewise, a hand gesture can mean different things to different people in different contexts. In the same way, if we put this song and its video into the proper context, we will see that the symbolism within it is not intended to be Satanic.

    I hope that shed some light on this song’s meaning for you. God bless.

    1. Jamie,

      Thanks for taking the time to look into this. I respect that you have done your research and decided not to view this video in the same light that I do; that doesn’t change the fact that for me, when I see this video in combination with that song, HUGE red flags go off in my spirit that say “This is a bad message.” If your spiritual discernment doesn’t say the same, then so be it. You start out by repeating the fact that it’s documented that Ryan Tedder grew up in a Christian setting and claims to be a Christian. If you watched my video, then you know I already know and acknowledge that. There have been other famous people who started with a “Christian” affiliation but eventually turned 180 degrees. Hollywood and the music industry are rife with satanism. Just look at Kesha, for only one of many examples. I think you, as a Christian, should consider keeping it in the forefront of your mind that Satan is the current “god” of this world, and famous, rich personalities tend to get there by serving him in some way or another, not God.

      To me, the fact that the whole attitude of the song seems to glorify “doing the wrong thing” cannot be overlooked; this, in combination with the very dubious hand signs and the odd religious theme which portrays Christian pastors very negatively, makes a very solid case. A lot of your objections are, in my view, mere hair-splitting. Of course a crocodile is not the same literal thing as a dragon, but they are types of the same general thing, and its presence there in the “lower level” is clearly symbolic. It’s true that Tedder didn’t do the full “As above, so below” gesture, but if you look around you’ll find that the two finger satanic gesture is a real thing, and you don’t have to do the complete pose to get the same message across. It’s a very odd thing to do, and especially right at that same moment when he says “I’ve been praying hard”. It’s an odd coincidence that his satanic gestures ONLY come out when he says that phrase, isn’t it? Of course, devil horns are associated with rock n’ roll, but so is the devil. Ever heard of selling your soul to the devil in exchange for musical talent and then becoming a rock star? It’s a classic theme. Don’t try to obfuscate or deny the obvious.

  2. First of all, I want to assure you that I did watch your entire video and gave it my full attention. I know how frustrating it can be to take the time to come up with a well thought out argument only to have it skipped over and bashed without the critics even listening to your points.

    Yes, it is true that there are a lot of people who say they are Christians who may turn 180 degrees or may not practice what they preach, however, I don’t think OneRepublic is one of them. They have, as I have said, actively done good deeds, been open about their faith, and have made it a point to write music that is meaningful and deliberately avoided making music about sex, drugs, alcohol, and sin as other bands have done. I think those are very good things, and OneRepublic is the very LAST band we should be attacking, considering all the other horrible bands that are very openly writing songs like “We Can’t Stop” which actually managed to not only mention but also promote sex, cocaine, molly, and strip clubs all in one song (not to mention the video, which was borderline pornographic) and pretty much every other pop song out there that has at least one reference to homosexuality, drinking, or drugs. Honestly, with all the songs on the radio today, I am extremely confused as to why you’d single out OneRepublic to criticize.

    Also. Just because they are successful does not mean that they sold their soul to the devil. There are a lot of people who are rich and famous who are still godly people. Remember that Solomon was the richest man on earth, because God blessed him with prosperity. The Bible also states that Abraham was very rich in gold and silver. And there are other examples, too, in the Bible, of men who were both rich and godly. King David and Queen Esther no doubt also lived prosperous lives. You can’t assume that every rock star or rich person is a Satanist. God blesses His people, too, and sometimes he raises them into places of influence to do His work.

    I think you’re misunderstanding the line about “I feel something so right, we’re doing the wrong thing” completely. He’s not saying that’s a good thing. Who can deny that doing the wrong thing feels good sometimes? We all know sin feels good, that’s why we do it even though it’s wrong! Otherwise nobody would do it, right? Yet he states right afterward: “Everything that kills me makes me feel alive.” That’s not a good thing! He’s not glorifying doing the wrong thing, and if he is, he’s doing a really lousy job of convincing anybody it’s a good idea! Who wants to die?? If anything, he is warning of the very real dangers of giving into temptation: that sin leads to death. He’s being honest about how he feels and lamenting the fact that he is drawn to doing what harms him. No different than Paul. I’m sorry, but I just don’t see that as sending a bad message in any way.

    As for portraying Christian pastors in a negative light, I don’t really see where you get that impression, either. I don’t see anything in the video that is negative about it.

    As for the supposed sign he gives, I’m afraid your logic is completely erroneous in this case and frankly just plain wrong. I am taking a course in reading alchemical symbolism, and the first thing that you learn in alchemical symbolism is that you need to look at the whole picture to understand its meaning, because the meaning changes based on slight differences you might not pick up on. Unlike most signs we use, like the peace sign, that can stand on their own, signs used in alchemy were dependent on the other factors in the image to give them meaning. In this case, the picture of Baphomet is depicting the sign of Hermes. Hermes was an Egyptian that founded the practice of alchemy. The basis of alchemy is that one could become one with god if they could achieve a perfect balance between all the elements and opposites. Combining male and female, water and fire, earth and air, etc.-that’s why you see all these different elements in the picture of Baphomet. “As above, so below” meant to achieve unity with heaven on earth. That is why the sign of Hermes is one hand pointing up and the other hand pointing downward. And it is not a two finger sign. It is three-the index, the middle, and the thumb. (And, in case you’re wondering, I am learning this in order to translate alchemical manuscripts for studying purposes, not because I believe in the philosophy of alchemy.)

    In other words, the two finger salute that Ryan Tedder gives in the video means absolutely nothing. You might say that he’s giving a cub scouts salute, but more likely it’s just an empty gesture. I think you are seeing several things here as symbolic that were never meant to be symbolic.

    You have stated that it is the combination of all the “red flags” that convinced you that OneRepublic is a Satanic group, however, I maintain that these red flags do not exist and that you have simply misinterpreted what you saw because you are looking too hard.

    1. The crocodile (actually it is an alligator I believe) is not a Satanic symbol.

    2. The two finger salute is not a Satanic symbol.

    3. The rock and roll sign is not a Satanic symbol. As you have said; yes, some people may (wrongly) interpret it is a sign of the devil, but most people do not, and the real meaning of the sign Ryan Tedder gave is what Ryan Tedder meant when he gave it.

    I am not in denial; I just have very serious doubts about what you’re saying. As for whether you think it is right to publicly criticize and accuse somebody who says they are a fellow believer, well, I will leave that up to your conscience and between you and God. I don’t feel that is my place to intervene. As for me, I must point out misconceptions where I see them, as I don’t believe it is right to allow falsehood to be spread about someone.

    It has been nice talking to you, but I think I have given my points already, and we’ll let the readers judge for themselves. I hope you pray about this and that the truth will be revealed.

    1. I know it’s been a while, but I’d just like to point out that if you take the time to read the first link that you posted to the “Plugged In” review, while they don’t see the song as I do, they DO see the same significance of the fake/evil pastor and the alligator. It’s pretty clear that the pastor is NOT being portrayed positively, and the alligator is pretty clearly an ominous or evil symbol- even to those who somehow think this song is Christian. I guess somehow they managed to miss the point that Tedder and his band are NOT praising God along with the rest, but are BELOW them, WITH the alligator. And doing Satanic hand signs.

      1. Hi there. I’ve seen a good bit of your post and videos and always find them fascinating. I may not agree with everything or interrupt it the same way, but always walk away with a lot to think about & educated, so keep it up. I found myself on this review through the black hole of clicking different links on each new story haha. But I had to comment, because, even though I know everyone interrupts things different ways, and I’m liable not to change your opinion, I wanted to bring something to your attention because I would hate for you to turn someone away from this song and other Ryan Tedder works when they could actually bring someone closer to God.
        About a year ago I read an interview with Mr. Tedder about this song specifically and what it meant. I tried finding the link because I know it doesn’t really validate what I’m saying if I can’t back it up, but unfortunately I read it in a magazine and can’t find the link yet online. I’ll keep searching though.
        Anyways, he talked about how he wrote this song really for himself, that it was almost a personal prayer, and how he was (ironically) calling out people who thought he’d abandoned God and his faith while silmutounsly telling those who told him to give up his faith that it wouldn’t ever happen.
        As you know, Tedder started out in the Christian music business. He was a Christian and a musician so it made sense. But while there, he saw a whole underbelly that made him uncomfortable with labeling himself as a Christian artist. So he left it. It was quite the timing that this song (and therefore his explanation) came out around the same that we were finding out about several Christian bands who were not only not Christian, but some where even self proclaimed atheist. But he never abandoned the faith that shapes his life and still acknowledges through One Republic songs and many songs that he writes for others, just how much his faith and The Lord are in his life.
        That’s what he’s saying in Counting Stars. In this interview he did, he explained some of the lines, for example “I feel something so wrong doing the right thing. And I feel something so right doing the wrong thing.” This is his way of saying, he’s on the outskirts of both the Christian and secular music worlds but he’s ok with it. Tedder talked about how in the Christian music world, he’s shunned be because he’s with a secular label and technically in the secular music world. And how in that secular music world, despite being an accomplished song writer, he’s still never been truly apart of it because he clings so tightly to God and let’s his faith show up in songs. So to both worlds, he’s “doing the wrong thing” but that he’s ok with that because he didn’t feel like he was honoring God doing what either world called “the right thing”. He spoke about how people have a narrow view of how you can use your talents for God (and he’s right. I’ve always thought it until he said this) but with his foray into this world, he’s able to share Jesus with so many more people than he would have before.
        He also talked about the video, which once you’ve heard his explanation of the song makes perfect sense. The revival upstairs is the Christian music world that wants to cast the first stone. And the alligator (you’re right about this) is the destruction that can glide in with the secular world. But he’s in the middle, in a relationship with The Lord that he knows is true and doesn’t care if others think differently.
        His main point of the song though is that the world tells us we have to live one way to be successful. And the Christian world tells us we have to live another way to honor God and be blessed but that sadly sometimes that comes at the expense of judging others to the point that you can’t even reach them share Gods love. But he’s found success doing things his way, by honoring God without shutting others out and know he can count stars instead of pennies.
        The first time I heard it, I had a much different response than you did. Since I knew Tedder and One Republic had always been open about being Christians, I always felt it was a way of saying “me and God got this. We don’t do things y’all’s way”. Once I read Tedders interview explaining the song, I knew I was right. I hope you can see it too and hopeful let others see this truth as well.
        God bless!

      2. Katie,
        Thanks for the response. I can only say that you should be careful, especially when dealing with big-name types in the media, about what you listen to and expose yourself to. Even Satan himself can appear as a being of light, so it would be no real surprise for an artist or group to claim to be Christian while promoting anti-Christian messages. I think the fact that Tedder actually throws up Satanic hand signs during the video really makes it nearly beyond question what they are trying to do here. This song definitely glorifies “doing the wrong thing”, and on those grounds alone it cannot be considered “Christian”. I respect your difference of opinion, but I would highly discourage Christians from listening to this (or most mainstream pop) music.

  3. As a Pastor’s wife, I am so sick of websites like yours that put people on a devil hunt. Why not preach the gospel, reach out to your neighbours and quit wasting your time confusing and judging others. If you have concerns with music, etc. why not send a letter to the band and ask them the meaning of the video instead of making your own assumptions.

    1. Take no part in the unfruitful works of darkness, but instead expose them.
      (Ephesians 5:11 ESV)

      Exposing the work of Satan in the world is our job as Christians. We are in spiritual warfare. Instead of bickering with a Christian who is doing his job, try joining in the spiritual battle and fight against the evil of this world. I am not the only one to have picked up on the very unsavory nature of this song. It’s catchy, but that makes it all the more dangerous. It’s not a Christian message. God bless.

    1. That would be a waste of time. Someone involved with Satanism cannot be expected to give an honest answer- especially when they publicly claim to be “Christian”. That has nothing to do with being a “responsible steward” anyway. It’s obvious their song is anti-Christian just from watching the video and listening to the lyrics. I need no further confirmation of that.

  4. I guess will find out when we get to heaven and see our Lord and Saviour who died for the sins of all. I’m just glad the days are gone when we burn the accused at the stake. I will pray for you to have a heart of compassion like Christ. This will be my last post to you.

Leave a Reply

